Visit Pompeii Excavations | Pompeii Sanctuary

Grand Hotel Due Golfi


Pompeii Excavations

Pompeii Excavations

Pompeii is famous all over the world because of the great tragedy of 79 a.C., when the rich Roman town was destroyed by the eruption of Vesuvius, together with Stabiae, Oplontis and Ercolano. It was a terrible tragedy that however has allowed the preservation of the town for so many centuries. Now visitors can see how Roman towns lived.

Thanks to the excavations, tourists can travel in the past, in a lost world that was so important for our present world. Tourists can have a close look to the past, to the most interesting but also the negative elements of that civilization. They can visit the temples, the public palaces, the rich noble villas, but also the shops, the poorer houses, the inns and the ‘lupanar’, that is all the places where the citizen lived his/her life.

Today, this UNESCO World Heritage Site is one of the most popular tourist attractions of Italy.

For more info visit the website

Pompeii Last Day
Pompeii Villa of the Mysteries

How to reach Pompeii Excavations from the hotel

By Train 
entrance at Porta Marina or Piazza Esedra
Circumvesuviana Napoli-Sorrento /stop Pompei Scavi - Villa dei Misteri)

By Car
Motorway A3 Napoli-Salerno (exit Pompei ovest )
Motorway A3 Salerno - Napoli (exit Pompei est)


Il Santuario di Pompei

In Piazza Bartolo Longo stands the famous Sanctuary of the Beata Vergine del Rosario.
Once, this large area called Campo Pompeiano, was a feud belonging first to Luigi Caracciolo and then to Ferdinando d’Aragona until in 1593 it became the private property of Alfonso Piccolomini.
From this moment an inexorable decline started and ended only towards the end of the nineteenth century with the arrival of a young lawyer from Puglia, Bartolo Longo with the task to administrate the goods of the countess De Fusco.
Bartolo Longo decided to commit himself to the divulgation of Christianity and thus founded the Confraternity of the Holy Rosary in the church of SS. Salvatore, here he started the collection to build the Sanctuary dedicated to the Madonna.

The Sanctuary, which was designed by the architect Antonio Cua who directed the work without recompense, was consecrated on May 7th 1891. In 1901 the sanctuary became a papal Basilica by order of pope Leon XIII.
The painting of the “Vergine del Rosario con il Bambino” with its bronze gilt frame is exposed on the high altar. Today the painting is object of  deep veneration and the story of its acquisition is really strange.
The painting was bought from a second-hand dealer by Father Alberto Maria Radente belonging to the convent of “S. Domenico Maggiore” who gave it as a gift to Bartolo Longo.
Then the painting was brought to Pompeii by a carter on a barrow full of manure.
At this point a young girl went to the sanctuary where she prayed to the Madonna to be cured from epilepsy; and this grace was conceded, from this moment the church became a place of pilgrimage.

For more info visit the site


Il Santuario di Pompei
Interno del Santuario

Ospiti camera #2
Ospiti camera #3
Ospiti camera #4

The Island of Capri, in the gulf of Naples, is the pearl of the Mediterrene... Continue

Amalfi Coast (Positano, Amalfi, Ravello)

The Amalfi Coast is a stunning beauty with its steep sloped lemon tree gard... Continue


Sorrento is situated on a plain above the sea, overlooking the Bay of Naple... Continue


Sunny, lively, sassy and simply unforgettable. Naples is music, theatre, Ve... Continue

Sign up and be the first to hear about our latest special offers!

Click here to subscribe
Galleria Fotografica
La Confettata
La Confettata

Continue »
Free Wi-Fi

Skype Me™! Distributori Mosajco Grand Hotel Due Golfi Headquarters: Via Nastro Azzurro, 1 - Sant' Agata - 80061 [NA] - Italia P.IVA 0124 144 12 19
Phone: +39 081 878 00 04 - Fax: +39 081 808 04 41 - E-mail:

Powered by Mosajco CMS